There have been several concerns circulated on the internet about the repercussions of being arrested for a DUI offense in California. So let us address this question once and for all to warn those who are curious about what will happen if caught for a DUI charge in California.
But before that, here is a piece of advice: If you’ve ever been arrested in California for a DUI crime, you should hire a DUI lawyer. Lawyers who specialize in DUI crimes can be found at several law firms in the cities of California. When arrested for a DUI crime in the city of Orange, for example, you could employ an Orange County DUI attorney to assist you with your case. Going back to our main point, what happens when you get a DUI for the first time in California?
What happens when you get a DUI for the first time in California
A first-time offender DUI is deemed illegal in California that carries a probation sentence for an estimated three years minimum and five years maximum. You will also pay fines ranging from $390.00 to $1000.00, as well as an extra penalty assessment. In addition, you must attend a mandatory DUI school, and your driver’s license will be revoked for six months.
That’s not all; you will also be required to install an IID system or the ignition interlock device that requires you to breathe through the breathalyzer and determine if you have alcohol intake or not.
If your BRC or the breath alcohol concentration exceeds the levels expected by your monitoring authority, your engine will not start, which prevents you from driving. However, the only punishment a DMV hearing officer can impose is a license suspension. He or she is not allowed to enforce any additional penalties.
It’s also worth noting that the DMV decision is unrelated to the criminal case or the potential criminal penalties. Upon your date of arrest, you will only be given ten days to request a hearing with the DMV. If you fail to demand within the ten-day limit, you will lose the hearing, and your driver’s license will be revoked for more than six months. To avoid losing their driver’s license, anyone charged with intoxicated driving must request and win an administrative hearing with the DMV, rather than being found guilty in court.
You will also expect these penalties if ever you get caught for a DUI crime in California:
- 3 to 5 years of under probation
- Mandatory DUI school
- Fines and penalty assessments totaling between $1,500 and $2,000 depending on which county you got caught
- A driver’s license suspension for six months. For this penalty, if you are lucky, you will only be expecting a restriction of your license or asked to install an IID in your vehicle.
It would be advantageous for you if you were already aware of these implications in the event that you were arrested for a DUI offense in California. However, many who are only looking for information should be mindful of how serious this crime is and avoid it at all costs, mainly in California.