A real estate license is essential to help people buy and sell their properties, regardless of state. Fortunately, getting a real estate license Florida isn’t as hard as one would think.
It only requires a few steps to get things done the right way. So, if you are planning to get a real estate license in Florida, lucky for you, we’ve got you covered. In this article, we will discuss the basic steps to getting a real estate license in Florida.
5 Steps to Get a Real Estate License in Florida
Before you start getting a real estate license, Florida requires you to be at least 18 years of age, a high school graduate or equivalent, and have a U.S. social security number. If you have all of these basic requirements, the next thing is to follow these steps to get your real estate license.
Step 1: Take the Pre-License Course
The first step to getting a real estate license in Florida is to take the 63-hour pre-license course. In addition, you are also required to pass this course for you to proceed to the next step.
The basic coverage of this pre-license course talks about the basic principles of principles, real estate laws, real estate practice, and real estate math. You can take the pre-license course in three ways, online, at a real estate school, or at the Realtor Associations and Boards in Florida.
The course package typically varies from $100 to the cheapest and $500 to the priciest. After the 63-hour pre-license course, you will take the exam, and the state requires you to have an exam score of at least 70%.
Step 2: Take the Florida Real Estate Exam
Once you’ve passed the pre-license course exam, the next step is to apply for the Florida real estate exam.
But before you send your application, the Depart of Business and Professionals Regulations (DBPR) require you to send your fingerprints taken at least five days before your application.
Digital fingerprints are only taken from an authorized location in any part of the country. It is required as Florida requires a further criminal background check if there is one. You must also provide the following ORI number FL920010Z and your social security number.
The typical cost of getting your fingerprints taken costs around $50 to $80, depending on the vendor. Once your fingerprint is taken, you will submit your application to DBPR. You will be required to pay $83.75, which can be paid through money order, mail, or online.
Note: You don’t have to be a Florida resident to apply and get a real estate license.
Step 3: Take the Real Estate Exam and Pass
Once you’ve submitted your real estate application, you will have to monitor your email and wait for an approval confirmation and a candidate number (FLREAPP ID). It will usually take around ten days to receive your application approval through email.
Pearson VUE is the authorized test center for taking the real estate exam. In addition, you can take the exam either online or at any Pearson VUE test center across the country. The real estate exam will cost you $36.75 per exam. In addition, you can take the exam online and schedule your exam, whether it is to be taken online or in person.
After paying, you will take the exam for 3.5 hours with 100 multiple-choice questions. The exam has a passing score of 75%, which means you need to get at least 75 correct answers out of the 100 questions to pass the exam.
If you didn’t pass the exam, you could just retake the exam as many times until you eventually pass it. Once you’ve passed the exam, you can download and print your license through the DBPR website.
Step 4: Affiliate With A Broker
Once you’ve obtained your real estate license and it is activated, it is valid for 18 to 24 months.
Technically, your real estate license isn’t activated if you aren’t affiliated with a broker. However, a sponsoring broker will often activate your real estate license through the DBPR RE 11-Sales Associate form.
Step 5: Join a Local Realtor or Board
Once you’ve joined a local board, you will now be officially a member of the National Association of Realtors and Florida Realtors State Association.
Buying and selling properties require a real estate license to operate legally in the state you’re operating. Fortunately, getting a real estate license in Florida is quite a breeze if you just follow the steps above.
The best thing about getting a real estate license is you don’t have to fear failing. You can take the exam as many times as you want. Hopefully, the guidelines have helped you towards becoming a licensed real estate agent in Florida.